Chocolate Chip Chickpea Blondie’s (GF)

GLUTEN-FREE EATS & TREATS


I don’t bake. The last time I tried I ended up wasting too much time, creating too much mess and throwing the majority of what I can only describe as unfit for human consumption… in the trash. Did I mention that the recipe was from a children’s cookbook. 10 year old’s can cook better than me. BUT JUST LOOK AT THESE. Can you imagine the surprise when I actually created something EDIBLE.

I can barely believe I made these, they were so easy and cheap to make! And more importantly, they tasted heavenly! ( I may have already eaten most of them…) don’t judge me. They are fudgy, fantastically chewy and with an added sprinkling of sea salt on the top… I might even go as far as to say they are my favorite gluten free treat yet! They even got the seal of approval from my housemate too! Score!

Also; I have a funny tummy when it comes to wheat, so anything flour-less in an absolute winner. If like myself, you suffer from what I call the “9 month baby bloat” and the pain that comes with it after digesting gluten, you probably know how it feels to suffer the torment of only being able to sniff the chocolate cake all you’re friends are eating, rather than paying an arm and a leg for the overly priced gluten-free version.   

Brownies Info.JPG
 – all pictures taken are my own – iphone 6: edited on VSCO & Afterlight – 

What you’ll need:

  • Cooking Spray
  • 420g Chickpeas (don’t forget to rinse and drain them!)
  • 1/2 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup organic agave nectar (honey if you’re not vegan)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 baking soda
  • 1/3 cup vegan or regular chocolate chunks + extra for topping
  • For a final touch sprinkle on some sea salt!

Instructions:

  • Preheat Oven to 170° Celsius and spray an *8×8 baking tin with non-stick cooking spray.
  • Add all the ingredients except for the chocolate chips, into a food processor and blend until a thick batter is formed.
  • Resist temptation to eat batter.
  • Spread evenly in the baking tin (the batter will be really sticky, it’s normal) and sprinkle 2 tablespoons of chocolate chunks on top (add more to exceed nutritional values)
  • Bake in the oven for 20 – 25 mins or until a toothpick comes out clean. The edges should be browned. The batter may seem to be underdone but they risk being dry if kept in any longer and will firm slightly once cooled.
  • Cool for 20 mins and sprinkle with sea salt (it’s best to leave them in the tin to cool)
  • Cut into squares, and serve!

For non-vegan recipes: Add an egg to make it more cake like

Add nuts, fudge pieces, or even dried fruit for an alternative!

IMG_1872 [26761].JPG

For the original recipe click this link! – Ambitious Kitchen –

Leave a Reply

