End of Week 1: destroyed

“The pain you feel today will be the strength you feel tomorrow”


Well, that’s it. My first week back at college is over and done with, and with it, the weekend too. It’s 9:45 pm on Sunday night, and I can’t quite believe it’s time to do it all again.

I am writing this as I lay very tentatively on my bed. And without meaning to sound over dramatic, every time I move, there’s pain throughout my entire body, and not just in my injury. My neck, shoulders, back, legs, arms, buttocks literally feel as if they’re on fire. But, I can’t complain, there’s a part of me that feels a sense of satisfaction. No pain, no gain, right?

To put it lightly, college has officially DESTROYED ME. I always underestimate how tiring it can be. Every term so far has left me either poorly and bed ridden for a good 2-3 days or with a new injury, and under no fault but my own. It’s important to remind myself that… although I am at ‘college’, we as students are training at similar levels to those who are professional athletes. For example, here’s this terms timetable in short:

  • Ballet =  5 and ¾ hrs
  • Jazz = 7 hrs
  • Tap = 3 hrs
  • Contemporary = 3 hrs

In total that is 18 and ¾ hours worth of work outs, Monday to Friday (and done “with FEELING”). How i managed to find the energy to participate in singing, and acting classes in between that whilst also painfully forcing myself to do a Nike Training Alpha Ab split session twice a day AND spending a couple hours at the gym I don’t know. Added up and calculated in that manner, it seems crazy doesn’t it? and some students are doing DOUBLE the amount of jazz classes that I am, hats off to you brave souls. I don’t know how you do it.

And to think, previously I was getting by (just) on 800 calories a day, 0 supplements, hardly any water and copious amounts of caffeine. No wonder I was sick and injured. It’s taken me until my second year to realize it, but I have put my body  under immense pressure, so looking after myself is now my no.1 priority.

UP NEXT: MY INJURY AND WHAT I’M DOING DIFFERENTLY

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_137_F16886703C971A877405D5FEA6C61B1C

 

 

Leave a Reply

