Dark Chocolate & Peanut-Butter Cornflake Cakes (GF)

Sunday was nearly over and me and my friends had just about had enough with Contextuals; our end of term college project. I was craving EVERYTHING *something deep fried and smothered in chocolate* Shrek reference, inside joke, sorry, carrying on. Eating is what I do when I’m stressed, for some reason it’s hard wired into me to run to the fridge whenever things get too much. Holler to all the other comfort/procrastination eaters out there, you’re not alone. Thankfully Sammy rushes in to save me. She’d been baking, because what other day is more perfect for it than a Sunday?! – she knows! When I saw them, my heart sank. “I can’t I’m sorry… I’m gluten intolerant” (if I was to have a catchphrase, I think this would be it). Story of my life.

But! to my surprise… “So am I!” she responded. You can imagine how my eyes lit up. Girl you are a genius. Gluten-free corn-flake cakes. HOW did I not think of this before?! I used to love these as a child, but ever since being diagnosed with chronic IBS I have stayed far, far away from anything breakfast cereal related.

BUT NOW…..  I DO BELIEVE I HAVE BEEN CHANGED FOR GOOD

#queuespontaneousscreaching #elphabadreams #notevensorry

elphaba.jpg

What You’ll Need:

  • 3 Cups GoFree Gluten Free Honey Flakes – (found these in Sainsbury’s) 
  • 100g Dark Chocolate – (or use whatever you have laying around – i’m sure you’ll have no trouble licking the bowl if there’s some left over)
  • 3 tsps Peanut Butter – I used Meridian Coconut & Peanut Butter If you’re confused by cup measurements, then use this converter! ← 

Instructions:cornflakesgofree

  1. Pour the Honey Flakes into a large bowl.
  2. Melt the chocolate and peanut butter over a low-medium heat until thoroughly melted (try to resist temptation to microwave.. this mixture burns easily)
  3. Prepare a baking tray and line with baking parchment or tinfoil. 
  4. Cover the Honey flakes in the chocolate mixture and mold into balls! You should make around 20 but go ahead and make less by making them bigger!
  5. Place on the tray and let them sit in the refrigerator for around 25 minutes.

And that’s your lot! Simple. Fun & blumming lovely!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_137_F16886703C971A877405D5FEA6C61B1C

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate & Peanut-Butter Cornflake Cakes (GF)

Leave a Reply

